We see lots of phishing attempts for email credentials. This one is quite strange and weird, It pretends to be a message from Barclays Bank to update card details. I don’t know what is happening but several times I tried, I get redirected to the genuine Barclays Bank website. But from anyrun using MITM and sometimes from my home IP address in UK I can get sometimes get to the phishing site. https://barclays-form.icu/

This is a very complicated chain of events, I ran this through anyrun using several different settings and got different results many times.

Anyrun reports: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10]

The link in the email goes to http://cvred.eu/ where it gets forwarded or diverted to https://pattxrn0913.shortcm.li/nFb0Jg and then several times got diverted to the genuine Barclays website. depending what setting I used on Anyrun I either got diverted to genuine Barclays site or got different HTTPS warning messages. I only got diverted 1 time to the actual phishing site. Trying from home using windows 8.1 & chrome as a browser, after the initial attempt I was diverted to https://pattxrn0913.shortcm.li/WBpaik where I got “this short url does not exist” Using alternative browsers, I do get sent to the phishing site but only on 1st attempt. As soon as I enter any sort of information on the page and exit that page, as soon as I revisit the original link I get diverted to https://pattxrn0913.shortcm.li/WBpaik where I got “this short url does not exist”

I really don’t know what happened the first few times I tried where I got diverted to the genuine Barclays home page. Either I was too quick for the phisher & he hadn’t fully set up the scam or something else went wrong somewhere along the line

You can now submit suspicious sites, emails and files via our Submissions system

Remember many email clients, especially on a mobile phone or tablet, only show the Name in the From: and not the bit in <domain.com >. That is why these scams and phishes work so well.

The email looks like:

From: Bank PLC <[email protected]>

Date: Mon 23/09/2021 05:34

Subject: Online Banking

Body Content:

Dear customer,

At our Card Services we take protecting your online security
and finances very seriously. That’s why we have a number of measures in
place to protect you when you bank online with us.

All Online Service users are required to double-check their secure details, this
process will take 7 days then we will email you with your new account details.

Click Here <http://cvred.eu> to update your details.

Please do not reply to this message. For questions, please call Customer Service at the number on the back of your card. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

We all get very blasé about phishing and think we know so much that we will never fall for a phishing attempt. Don’t assume that all attempts are obvious. Watch for any site that invites you to enter ANY personal or financial information. It might be an email that says “you have won a prize” or “sign up to this website for discounts, prizes and special offers”

Please read our How to protect yourselves page for simple, sensible advice on how to avoid being infected by this sort of socially engineered malware.

All of these emails use Social engineering tricks to persuade you to open the attachments that come with the email. Whether it is a message saying “look at this picture of me I took last night” and it appears to come from a friend or is more targeted at somebody who regularly is likely to receive PDF attachments or Word .doc attachments or any other common file that you use every day. Or whether it is a straight forward attempt, like this one, to steal your personal, bank, credit card or email and social networking log in details. Be very careful when unzipping them and make sure you have “show known file extensions enabled“, And then look carefully at the unzipped file. If it says .EXE then it is a problem and should not be run or opened.