Trickbot Via Fake Lloyds Bank “Important : Please Review Attached Document(s) “

Fake

This example is today’s latest spoof or imitation of a well-known company, bank or public authority delivering Trickbot banking Trojan. The email with the subject of “Important : please review attached document(s) ” pretends to come from Lloyds Bank but actually comes from “donotreply@lloydsbankdocs.com” which is a look-a-like, typo-squatted or other domain that can easily be misidentified, mistaken or confused with the genuine site. These all have either a malicious office file attachment.

Lloyds Bank has not been hacked or had their email or other servers compromised. They are not sending the emails to you. They are just innocent victims in exactly the same way as every recipient of these emails.

What has happened is that the criminals sending these have registered various domains that look like the genuine Company, Bank, Government Department or message sending service. Normally there is only one newly registered domain that imitates a well known Company, Government Department, Bank or other organisation that can easily be confused with the genuine body or website in some way. These are hosted on & send the emails from 3 or 4 different servers. Some days however we do see dozens or even hundreds of fake domains.

Today’s example of the spoofed domain is, as usual, registered via Godaddy as registrar. Because of new GDPR rules we cannot easily find the registrants name or any further details.

There is somewhat of change with the DNS lookups, hosting of the domain and the email sending today, compared with the usual. I suppose they are trying to throw us off the track with legitimate domain hosting & MX set up from the 2 biggest companies in the business, Microsoft & Google.

  • lloydsbankdocs.com sending emails via 88.208.41.33 | 95.211.242.124 | 95.211.242.125 | 85.17.20.88 |

But DNS lookups shows the domain is hosted by Microsoft on 51.140.180.76 and 51.141.44.139. Further the MX for receiving emails are Google owned – alt1.aspmx.l.google.com | aspmx.l.google.com | alt2.aspmx.l.google.com | alt3.aspmx.l.google.com

There are also changes to the stolen information that Trickbot exfiltrates from the victim’s computer. As well as passwords, browsing history, bank and other financial data & logons etc they are now reading & stealing the reliability data database & information from C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\RAC\ They can use the massive amounts of data from that to perform a multitude of other nefarious tasks on the infected computer.

It is very worrying already the amount of date we all send back to Microsoft about the computer and the way we use & interact with it. Now criminals are stealing that data, we should all be very worried about what they can find out about us & what damage they can do to us.

You can now submit suspicious sites, emails and files via our Submissions system

Email Details
From: Lloyds Bank <donotreply@lloydsbankdocs.com>
Date: Fri 16/11/2018 11:45
Subject: Important : please review attached document(s)
Attachment: 11162018231.doc
Body content:

This message was sent to: victim@victimsdomain.com
Lloyds Bank – Account Document(s)
Reference:C31290192
Case Number: 11162018231
Please review attached account document(s) and fax them to +44 (0) 824 231 3311.
Please note that the Terms and Conditions available below are the Bank’s most recently issued versions. Please bear in mind that earlier versions of these Terms and Conditions may apply to your products, depending on when you signed up to the relevant product or when you were last advised of any changes to your Terms and Conditions. If you have any questions regarding which version of the Terms and Conditions apply to your products, please contact your Relationship Manager.
Your sincerely,
Natalie Mullaney
Senior Officer
Lloyds Bank
Calls may be monitored or recorded in case we need to check we have carried out your instructions correctly and to help improve our quality of service.
Lloyds Bank plc. Registered Office: 25 Gresham Street, London EC2V 7HN. Registered in England and Wales no. 2065 Lloyds Bank plc is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority under registration number 119278. We also subscribe to the lending code. Details can be obtained from www.lendingstandardsboard.orguk.
Lloyds Bank plc registered office:
25 Gresham Street,
London EC2V 7HN.
Registered in England and Wales No. 2065.
We may monitor or record telephone calls to check out your instructions correctly and to help us improve the quality of our service. Calls from abroad are charged according to the telephone service provider’s published tariff. Not all Telephone Banking services are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Please speak to an adviser for more information.

Screenshot:

Fake Lloyds Bank Important : please review attached document(s) email

Malware Details

Fake Lloyds Bank Important : please review attached document(s) word doc

11162018231.doc Current Virus total detections | Anyrun |
This malware doc file downloads from https://miconn.ca/nani.nani which is a renamed .exe file VirusTotal | Cape Sandbox | Gtag Ser 1116 Version 1000303
There is only 1 download location today, although it is redirecting from the http://miconn.ca/nani.nani url embedded in the macro to https://miconn.ca/nani.nani
The folder for the files & configs is: C:\Users\[User]\AppData\Roaming\vsvsid

As an experiment, I decided to run this trickbot binary through Anyrun using a range of different OS & VM settings. It looks buggy & crashes in 32 bit vista. 64 Bit W7 is shown above and shows a good run with everything downloaded & runs. 64 bit W10 doesn’t seem to show as much action as W7 shows. I don’t know if that is the way the Anyrun VM is configured or whether the inbuilt W10 protections in the OS do help to protect from the worst of the Trickbot’s behaviour. I don’t see all the modules retrieved or the same behaviour that W7 shows. A second W10 64 bit run, running the file as an an elevated admin user does show some additional actions, but not to the same extent as W7 does.

W 8.1 64 bit shows basically very similar behaviour to W7 64 bit, although a lot more Powershell actions and didn’t download all the additional files that W7 64 bit did ( radiance.png ( 2 copies on w7 but only 1 on W8.1), and table.png did not download on W8.1 . W7 32 bit shows very similar behaviour to W7 64 bit but downloaded all 3 additional files radiance.png, worming.png and table.png, but also crashed part way through. It looks like the W32 versions are buggy.

I also have not seen the examination or stealing of the reliability databases in any OS except W7 64 bit.
All in all, I think, based on actions in a VM, that Trickbot runs very effectively under Windows 7 64 bit and W10 64 bit but isn’t so effective or dangerous when using a 32 bit OS.

All modern versions of word and other office programs, that is 2010, 2013, 2016 and 365, should open all Microsoft office documents that is Word docs, Excel spreadsheet files and PowerPoint etc that are downloaded from the web or received in an email automatically in “protected view” that stops any embedded malware, macros and DDE “exploit /Feature” and embedded ole objects from being displayed and running.

Make sure protected view is set in all office programs to protect you and your company from these sorts of attacks and do not over ride it to edit the document. If the protected mode bar appears when opening the document DO NOT follow the advice they give to enable macros or enable editing to see the content. The document will have a warning message, but you will be safe.

Be aware that there are a lot of other dodgy word docs spreading that WILL infect you with no action from you, if you are still using an out dated or vulnerable version of word. This is a good reason to update your office programs to a recent version and stop using office 2003 and 2007. Many of us have continued to use older versions of word and other office programs, because they are convenient, have the functions and settings we are used to and have never seen a need to update to the latest super-duper version.

The risks in using older version are now seriously outweighing the convenience, benefits and cost of keeping an old version going.

What Can Be Infected By This

At this time, these malicious macros only infect windows computers. They do not affect a Mac, IPhone, IPad, Blackberry, Windows phone or Android phone. The malicious word or excel file can open on any device with an office program installed, and potentially the macro will run on Windows or Mac or any other device with Microsoft Office installed. BUT the downloaded malware that the macro tries to download is windows specific, so will not harm, install or infect any other computer except a windows computer. You will not be infected if you do not have macros enabled in Excel or Word. These Macros, embedded Oles or DDE do not run in “Office Online” Open Office, Libre Office, Word Perfect or any other office program that can read Word or Excel files.

Please read our How to protect yourselves page for simple, sensible advice on how to avoid being infected by this sort of socially engineered malware. Also please read our post about word macro malware and how to avoid being infected by them

I strongly urge you to update your office software to the latest version and stop putting yourself at risk, using old out of date software.

IOC:
11162018231.doc
MD5: 6da0600790037b4ff618de56af18034a
SHA-1: 94813c0dc80b3347427a5f66fd93dd4d1a20c92b
Download URLs
http://miconn.ca/nani.nani 70.33.246.80
https://miconn.ca/nani.nani
MD5: a9fc7bd01ca48fe4c741b29ef6379e14
SHA1: 4b2bca2a72a40cacbb249c59f34453f0b47f86f0
Email from: Lloyds Bank <donotreply@lloydsbankdocs.com>
51.140.180.76
51.141.44.139
88.208.41.33
95.211.242.124
95.211.195.125
85.17.20.88

Total
9
Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts