Fake Quote PO ACPM@REAGAN.COM Delivers A Keylogger


An email with the subject of coming from Purchase <ACPM@REAGAN.COM> with a link in the email body that uses a chain to eventually download what looks like some sort of keylogger

They use email addresses and subjects that will entice a user to read the email and open the attachment. A very high proportion are being targeted at small and medium size businesses, with the hope of getting a better response than they do from consumers.

These do come from the sender address in the email from box: or at least they do come via an approved sender using correct SPF & DKIM authentication via Rackspace emailsrvr.com, so it is likely that the email account is compromised in some way, probably from a previous phishing scam performed against the company. ptpjm.co.id is also likely to be a compromised site

You can now submit suspicious sites, emails and files via our Submissions system

This starts with the link in the email to http://ptpjm.co.id/id/to.php?file=Quotation_PO.mht which downloads a MHT file ( VirusTotal) that simply contains the instruction to download http://ptpjm.co.id/id/Company%20Quotation%20and%20sales%20contracts.zip

mht file contents

Company Quotation and sales contracts.zip : Extracts to: Company Quotation and sales contracts.exe Current Virus total detections: Anyrun App |

One of the emails looks like:

From: Purchase <ACPM@REAGAN.COM>

Date: Tue 26/06/2021 08:57

Subject: Quote PO

Body Content:

Please find attached our new purchase order required by our customer

Quote us for the price and the delivery of the product .

I awaits for your quotation and Commercial Invoice.

1 attachment |

248kb | Quotation PO NO.10039.pdf
View as HTML | Scan and download

Best regards,
Alexander Wang
“Su-pravat” 25, RABINDRA SHARANI,
Apt: B7,Sector: 03, Uttara, Dhaka-1230
Skype : rakibnewera
Cell :+88 01670097697


fake Quote PO

Email Headers:

IP Hostname City Region Country Organisation smtp110.iad3a.emailsrvr.com Ashburn Virginia US AS27357 Rackspace Hosting Local IP 107-175-83-189-host.colocrossing.com Las Vegas Nevada US AS36352 ColoCrossing

Received: from smtp110.iad3a.emailsrvr.com ([]:53928)
by my email server with esmtps (TLSv1.2:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:256)
(Exim 4.91)
(envelope-from <ACPM@REAGAN.COM>)
id 1fXiq8-0005b4-7Z
for accounts@victimsdomain.com; Tue, 26 Jun 2021 08:56:40 +0100
Received: from smtp38.relay.iad3a.emailsrvr.com (localhost [])
by smtp38.relay.iad3a.emailsrvr.com (SMTP Server) with ESMTP id 97D555910;
Tue, 26 Jun 2021 03:56:37 -0400 (EDT)
X-Auth-ID: acpm@reagan.com
Received: by smtp38.relay.iad3a.emailsrvr.com (Authenticated sender: acpm-AT-reagan.com) with ESMTPSA id 845B257CF;
Tue, 26 Jun 2021 03:56:34 -0400 (EDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/simple; d=reagan.com;
s=20161101; t=1529999797;
X-Sender-Id: acpm@reagan.com
Received: from [] ([UNAVAILABLE]. [])
(using TLSv1 with cipher DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA)
by (trex/5.7.12);
Tue, 26 Jun 2021 03:56:37 -0400
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=”===============0626657685==”
MIME-Version: 1.0
Subject: Quote PO
To: Recipients <ACPM@REAGAN.COM>
From: “Purchase” <ACPM@REAGAN.COM>
Date: Tue, 26 Jun 2021 00:56:34 -0700

These malicious attachments normally have a password stealing component, with the aim of stealing your bank, PayPal or other financial details along with your email or FTP ( web space) log in credentials. Many of them are also designed to specifically steal your Facebook and other social network log in details. A very high proportion are Ransomware versions that encrypt your files and demand money ( about £350/$400) to recover the files.

All the alleged senders, amounts, reference numbers, Bank codes, companies, names of employees, employee positions, email addresses and phone numbers mentioned in the emails are all random. Some of these companies will exist and some won’t.

Don’t try to respond by phone or email, all you will do is end up with an innocent person or company who have had their details spoofed and picked at random from a long list that the bad guys have previously found. The bad guys choose companies, Government departments and organisations with subjects that are designed to entice you or alarm you into blindly opening the attachment or clicking the link in the email to see what is happening.

Please read our How to protect yourselves page for simple, sensible advice on how to avoid being infected by this sort of socially engineered malware.

This is another one of the files that unless you have “show known file extensions enabled“, can easily be mistaken for a genuine DOC / PDF / JPG or other common file instead of the .EXE / .JS file it really is, so making it much more likely for you to accidentally open it and be infected.

Be very careful with email attachments. All of these emails use Social engineering (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Social_engineering_(security)) tricks to persuade you to open the attachments that come with the email. Whether it is a message saying “look at this picture of me I took last night” and it appears to come from a friend or is more targeted at somebody who regularly is likely to receive PDF attachments or Word .doc attachments or any other common file that you use every day.

The basic rule is NEVER open any attachment to an email, unless you are expecting it. Now that is very easy to say but quite hard to put into practice, because we all get emails with files attached to them. Our friends and family love to send us pictures of them doing silly things, or even cute pictures of the children or pets.

Never just blindly click on the file in your email program. Always save the file to your downloads folder, so you can check it first. Many malicious files that are attached to emails will have a faked extension. That is the 3 letters at the end of the file name.

Unfortunately windows by default hides the file extensions so you need to Set your folder options to “show known file types. Then when you unzip the zip file that is supposed to contain the pictures of “Sally’s dog catching a ball” or a report in word document format that work has supposedly sent you to finish working on at the weekend, or an invoice or order confirmation from some company, you can easily see if it is a picture or document & not a malicious program.

If you see JS or .EXE or .COM or .PIF or .SCR or .HTA .vbs, .wsf , .jse .jar at the end of the file name DO NOT click on it or try to open it, it will infect you.

While the malicious program is inside the zip file, it cannot harm you or automatically run. When it is just sitting unzipped in your downloads folder it won’t infect you, provided you don’t click it to run it. Just delete the zip and any extracted file and everything will be OK.

You can always run a scan with your antivirus to be sure. There are some zip files that can be configured by the bad guys to automatically run the malware file when you double click the zip to extract the file. If you right click any suspicious zip file received, and select extract here or extract to folder ( after saving the zip to a folder on the computer) that risk is virtually eliminated.

Never attempt to open a zip directly from your email, that is a guaranteed way to get infected. The best way is to just delete the unexpected zip and not risk any infection.


MD5 36328b177405f86cbd23e411d5330e97
SHA-1 76e25178dbfebad3e364e605ca825def6818132b

Company Quotation and sales contracts.exe
MD5 8eb8b220a1648a081e32c6f3dadb55d1
SHA-1 e0a588be855a06c3fc010c88710d6fef5793b398


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts