Fake Facebook Messages

Fake Facebook

Over the last few weeks, we have all been plagued by Fake Facebook messages saying ” somebody commented on your status” or “You requested a new Facebook password”

These appear to come from Facebook <update+hiehdzge@facebookmail.com> but are being sent by one of the botnets and not by Facebook at all. They normally have 2 links in them, that if you are unwise enough to click on them will either take you to a Women’s Health page trying to sell you fake drugs for slimming or other women’s problems. Other days they send you to one of the Canadian or Russian Pharmacy pages selling Viagra, valium or other illegal drugs.

facebook somebody commented on your status

facebook You requested a new Facebook password

Always hover over the links in these emails and you will see that they do not lead to Facebook. Do not click on the links, just delete the emails as soon as they arrive.

Thee is always the very high possibility that one of the other botnets will use these to send you to a malicious site where your computer will be infected, rather than trying to scam you out of money by selling fake medicines that could kill you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts