Apple Termination – Phishing

Phishing

Apple Termination pretending to come from Apple Account <support@apple-messages.com> is one of the latest phish attempts to steal your Apple Account and your Bank, credit card and personal details. We continue to see loads of slight variations in this series of Apple phishing emails include Your Apple Closure coming from Your Apple Helpdesk <support@applemessageservice.eu>.

This is NOT a genuine Apple owned domain and has been set up solely to act as a scam site for phishing and other illegal activities. The link in today’s email goes to http://applesafeassist.info/mypreferences/?email=[redacted]

This one only wants your personal details, Apple log in details and your credit card and bank details. Many of them are also designed to specifically steal your email, facebook and other social network log in details as well.

Please read our How to protect yourselves page for simple, sensible advice on how to avoid being infected by this sort of socially engineered malware.

The original email looks like this It will NEVER be a genuine email from Apple or any other company so don’t ever click the link in the email. If you do it will lead you to a website that looks at first glance like the genuine Apple website but you can clearly see in the address bar, that it is fake. Some versions of this phish will ask you fill in the html ( webpage) form that comes attached to the email.

This one is slightly more evil than other similar phishes. The domain could easily be a genuine Apple domain http://myappmessage.co.uk/login/?email=submit@thespykiller.co.uk

when anybody tries to bypass the email details and go direct to http://myappmessage.co.uk/login/ you then get a fake ” This Account Has Been Suspended” message which is intended to fool the phish reporting sites, who block by page or domain, not by the details after the /?

Apple ID – submit@thespykiller.co.ukThis is the final email to inform you as of 30 – January – 2021 that you have not yet updated your account information. Under “Know your Customer” legislation Apple Inc is required to perform a verification of your account, failure to do so will result in account termination in less than 48 hours.To stop the termination of your Apple and iCloud please validate your account information before the deadline.

 

Please proceed to Verify your iCloud Account »

Sincerely, Apple Support

My Apple ID | Support | Privacy Policy | UnsubscribeCopyright © 2021 Apple Inc. 31-22, Rue Sainte Zithe, L-2763 Luxembourg‎ All Rights Reserved.

 

If you follow the link you see a webpage looking like with a pre- filled in box with your email address in it.:

When you fill in your user name and password you get a page looking like this ( split into sections), where the phishers try to validate your details to make sure that you are entering “genuine ” information. They make sure that the bank account numbers have the correct number of digits and that the credit card numbers have the correct number of digits and format.

All of these emails use Social engineering tricks to persuade you to open the attachments that come with the email. Whether it is a message saying “look at this picture of me I took last night” and it appears to come from a friend or is more targeted at somebody who regularly is likely to receive PDF attachments or Word .doc attachments or any other common file that you use every day. Or whether it is a straight forward attempt, like this one, to steal your personal, bank, credit card or email and social networking log in details.

Be very careful when unzipping them and make sure you have “show known file extensions enabled“, And then look carefully at the unzipped file. If it says .EXE then it is a problem and should not be run or opened.

Total
0
Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts